The Peculiar Patriot

  Emerson Paramount Center Jackie Liebergott Black Box
559 Washington Street Boston, MA 02116, United States

 Oct 17 - Oct 28

 Full Price: $60
 Our Price: $25 - $39



Showtimes

Wednesday, Oct 17, 2018 / 7:30pm
Thursday, Oct 18, 2018 / 7:30pm
Friday, Oct 19, 2018 / 8:00pm
Saturday, Oct 20, 2018 / 2:00pm
Saturday, Oct 20, 2018 / 8:00pm
Sunday, Oct 21, 2018 / 2:00pm
Wednesday, Oct 24, 2018 / 7:30pm
Thursday, Oct 25, 2018 / 7:30pm
Friday, Oct 26, 2018 / 8:00pm
Saturday, Oct 27, 2018 / 2:00pm
Saturday, Oct 27, 2018 / 8:00pm
Sunday, Oct 28, 2018 / 2:00pm

Description

Inspired by her decades-long work with prison populations, including on the notorious Riker's Island, Liza Jessie Peterson's timely and urgent one-person show unpacks the human impact of mass incarceration in America. Fearlessly funny, smart and provocative, "The Peculiar Patriot" traces the migration of systemic injustice from the plantation to the prison yard. Betsy LaQuanda Ross, Liza's narrator, is a self-proclaimed "peculiar patriot" who makes regular visits to penitentiaries to boost the morale of her incarcerated friends and family. Betsy is both victim and victor of this country's prison system and her story turns statistics into achingly relatable stories, drawn from the experience of more than 2.5 million people behind bars. Make sure to see "The Peculiar Patriot" at the Emerson Paramount Center's Jackie Liebergott Black Box in Boston.



Location

Emerson Paramount Center Jackie Liebergott Black Box

559 Washington Street Boston, MA 02116, United States

Page Last Edited on Saturday, September 22, 2018