Blues for an Alabama Sky

  Theatre Row - Theatre Five
410 West 42nd Street New York City, NY 10036, United States

 Feb 28 - Mar 14

 Full Price: $65
Our Price: $45

Get Tickets now

Showtimes

  • Friday, Feb 28, 2020 / 8:00pm
  • Saturday, Feb 29, 2020 / 2:00pm
  • Saturday, Feb 29, 2020 / 8:00pm
  • Sunday, Mar 1, 2020 / 3:00pm
  • Wednesday, Mar 4, 2020 / 7:00pm
  • Friday, Mar 6, 2020 / 8:00pm
  • Saturday, Mar 7, 2020 / 2:00pm
  • Saturday, Mar 7, 2020 / 8:00pm
  • Sunday, Mar 8, 2020 / 3:00pm
  • Wednesday, Mar 11, 2020 / 7:00pm
  • Friday, Mar 13, 2020 / 8:00pm
  • Saturday, Mar 14, 2020 / 2:00pm
  • Saturday, Mar 14, 2020 / 8:00pm

Description

It’s the summer of 1930 and the creative spirit of the Harlem Renaissance is giving way to the realities of the Great Depression. In an apartment building on 126th street, five passionate and progressive friends carve out a future for themselves within a changing city. Playwright Pearl Cleage (Flyin’ West and Oprah Book Club selection What Looks Like Crazy on an Ordinary Day) tells a strikingly modern and spirited story set during a time when Rev Adam Clayton Powell, Jr was preaching activism in the Abyssinian Baptist Church and Josephine Baker was singing the blues in the Folies Bergère. After charming audiences around the world, Keen is proud to present its New York premiere.

Related Show Guide

Learn more about the show's plot and character descriptions



Page Last Edited on Friday, February 28, 2020