Writers: Joseph Stein Charles Strouse Stephen Schwartz


Act One

  • Overture/I Remember - Company
  • If We Never Meet Again - Bella, Rebecca
  • Greenhorns - Americans, Ensemble
  • Brand New World - Rebecca, Bella, Avram, David
  • Edge of A Knife - Rebecca
  • The Fabric of America - Jack, Bella, Ben, Rebecca, Ensemble
  • Penny a Tune - Klezmer Musicians
  • Greenhorn (Reprise) - Americans, Ensemble
  • Bella’s Song - Part One - Ben
  • Meet an Italian - Sal
  • Friday Night Prayers - Company
  • If We Never Meet Again/Edge of A Knife (Reprise) - Rebecca, Bella
  • Little Lady - Bronfman, Rebecca
  • Cheer Up, Chaimlet - Ensemble
  • Take Our City Back - Americans, Ensemble
  • Blame It on the Summer Night - Sal, Rebecca
  • For My Mary - Anna, Ben, Irish Man
  • Take Our Country Back - Americans, Ensemble
  • Rags - Rebecca, Bella


  • On the Fourth Day of July - Americans, Ensemble
  • Yankee Boy - Ben, David, Bella, Ensemble
  • Uptown - Bronfman, Rebecca
  • Wanting - Rebecca, Sal, Ensemble
  • Rags (reprise) - David, Rebecca
  • Three Sunny Rooms - Rachel, Avram, Bella, Ben
  • Kaddish - Avram, Company
  • Bella’s Song - Part Two - Ben
  • If We Never Meet Again (Reprise) - Rebecca
  • Bread and Freedom - Rebecca, Sal, Protestors
  • Children of the Wind - Rebecca
  • Finale - David, Rebecca, Company

Many songs were cut or rearranged from the original production. Songs that were cut from the revival are “Easy for You”, “Hard to be a Prince”, “What’s Wrong with That?”, “In America”, “Nothing Will Hurt Us Again”, “Cherry Street Cafe”, “The Sound of Love”, “Democratic Club Dance”, and “Dancing With the Fools”.

A song with an asterisk (*) before the title indicates a dance number; a character listed in a song with an asterisk (*) by the character's name indicates that the character exclusively serves as a dancer in this song, which is sung by other characters.

Rags guide sections