King Harald's Saga


Writers: Judith Weir


Act One

  • Spoken Introduction
  • Aria ‘I, Harald, by the grace of almighty God’ - Harald
  • Fanfare - Harald
  • Aria ‘Hail, Take, Kill’ - Tostig

Act 2

  • Spoken Introduction
  • Aria: ‘Sleep Harald sleep on’ - St Olaf
  • Aria: ‘Put out to sea’ - Harald
  • Duet: ‘Farewell, farewell’ - Elizabeth, Thora

Act 3


  • Spoken Introduction
  • Recitative ‘I have seen this all before’ - Icelandic Sage

A song with an asterisk (*) before the title indicates a dance number; a character listed in a song with an asterisk (*) by the character's name indicates that the character exclusively serves as a dancer in this song, which is sung by other characters.

King Harald's Saga guide sections