Show Way: A Book in Concert

  The Kennedy Center - Family Theater
2700 F Street, NW Washington, DC 20566, United States

 May 13 - May 29

 Full Price: Coming Soon
Our Price: Sold Out

Get Tickets now

Showtimes

  • Friday, May 13, 2022 / 7:00pm
  • Sunday, May 15, 2022 / 4:00pm
  • Friday, May 20, 2022 / 7:00pm
  • Saturday, May 21, 2022 / 4:00pm
  • Sunday, May 22, 2022 / 4:00pm
  • Thursday, May 26, 2022 / 7:00pm
  • Friday, May 27, 2022 / 7:00pm
  • Saturday, May 28, 2022 / 4:00pm
  • Sunday, May 29, 2022 / 4:00pm

Description

Soonie's great-grandma was just 7 years old when she was sold to a big plantation without her ma and pa, with only some fabric and needles to call her own. She began to stitch a Show Way, a quilt with secret meanings to show enslaved people the way to freedom. As each generation passes, the Show Way shines a light on the past and paves a road to the future, stitching together possibility and promise. Education Artist-in-Residence Jacqueline Woodson’s Newbery-winning book of history, love, and resilience becomes a world premiere stage adaptation with new music by Tyrone L. Robinson and directed by Schele Williams. This moving, lyrical account based on Woodson’s own family pays tribute to women whose strength and knowledge illuminate their daughters’ lives—from enslavement to freedom, through segregation, freedom marches, and the fight for literacy.

Location

Related Show Guide

Learn more about the show's plot and character descriptions



Page Last Edited on Tuesday, January 25, 2022